Does Otter.ai train on your data? (Business plans)
Trains by default
Trains on business data unless you opt out.
Otter trains its proprietary models on de-identified recordings/transcripts automatically; Enterprise page offers an "AI model training opt-out" via your account manager. Third-party AI providers do not train on customer data.
Why this matters: "De-identified" removes names, not the substance of what was said or written. What "de-identified" covers →
Below: retention, SOC 2, ISO 27001/42001, DPA, BAA, data residency and zero-retention for Otter.ai, each linked to Otter.ai's own page.
Trains on your data by default
Otter trains its proprietary models on de-identified recordings/transcripts automatically; Enterprise page offers an "AI model training opt-out" via your account manager. Third-party AI providers do not train on customer data.
- otter.ai/privacy-security · checked Oct 17, 2026
Data retention
Deleted conversations go to trash and are automatically deleted after 30 days.
- otter.ai/privacy-security · checked Oct 17, 2026
ISO/IEC 27001
Policies are "based on the ISO 27001/2 framework"; no certification claimed.
- otter.ai/privacy-security · checked Oct 17, 2026
ISO/IEC 42001
Not stated on the Otter.ai pages we checked.
- otter.ai/privacy-policy · checked Oct 17, 2026
- otter.ai/privacy-security · checked Oct 17, 2026
- otter.ai/enterprise · checked Oct 17, 2026
- help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/33975072019991-HIPAA-Otter-ai · checked Oct 17, 2026
DPA available
Not stated on the Otter.ai pages we checked.
- otter.ai/privacy-policy · checked Oct 17, 2026
- otter.ai/privacy-security · checked Oct 17, 2026
- otter.ai/enterprise · checked Oct 17, 2026
- help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/33975072019991-HIPAA-Otter-ai · checked Oct 17, 2026
BAA / HIPAA
HIPAA compliance only on the Enterprise plan; BAA via account manager.
- help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/33975072019991-HIPAA-Otter-ai · checked Oct 17, 2026
Data residency options
Not stated on the Otter.ai pages we checked.
- otter.ai/privacy-policy · checked Oct 17, 2026
- otter.ai/privacy-security · checked Oct 17, 2026
- otter.ai/enterprise · checked Oct 17, 2026
- help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/33975072019991-HIPAA-Otter-ai · checked Oct 17, 2026
Zero-retention option
Says AI service providers do not store customer data sent through the API; no customer-facing ZDR option stated.
- otter.ai/privacy-security · checked Oct 17, 2026
Vendor pages we monitor for this tool
We save a fingerprint (SHA-256 of the page's visible text) on every check so we can spot when a vendor edits its terms.
| Page | Checked | Fingerprint |
|---|---|---|
| https://otter.ai/privacy-policy | Oct 17, 2026 | c4e3f08c8d2c… |
| https://otter.ai/privacy-security | Oct 17, 2026 | c497adc2e44b… |
| https://otter.ai/enterprise | Oct 17, 2026 | 80ebdb07b9e4… |
| https://help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/33975072019991-HIPAA-Otter-ai | Oct 17, 2026 | 08d707cd785f… |
Compare with
- Fathom Trains by default
- Fireflies.ai Doesn't train
- Read AI Doesn't train
- Webex AI Assistant Doesn't train
- Zoom AI Companion Doesn't train
See all Meeting notes tools · Why AI training on your data matters · How we source and verify this