Does Asana AI train on your data? (Business plans)
Doesn't train by default
Doesn't train on business data by default.
"Asana does not use customer data for training"; AI partners contractually prohibited.
Why this matters: A "no" keeps your prompts and files out of Asana's models, where they couldn't be removed later. Confirm it covers the plan you use. Why training matters →
Below: retention, SOC 2, ISO 27001/42001, DPA, BAA, data residency and zero-retention for Asana AI, each linked to Asana's own page.
Trains on your data by default
"Asana does not use customer data for training"; AI partners contractually prohibited.
- help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-faq · checked Oct 17, 2026
Data retention
Partners must delete customer data upon completion of an individual query/response.
- help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-faq · checked Oct 17, 2026
ISO/IEC 42001
Not stated on the Asana pages we checked.
- help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-features-and-admin-controls · checked Oct 17, 2026
- help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-faq · checked Oct 17, 2026
- asana.com/trust · checked Oct 17, 2026
DPA available
Not stated on the Asana pages we checked.
- help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-features-and-admin-controls · checked Oct 17, 2026
- help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-faq · checked Oct 17, 2026
- asana.com/trust · checked Oct 17, 2026
BAA / HIPAA
HIPAA listed in certifications and attestations.
- asana.com/trust · checked Oct 17, 2026
Data residency options
Data centers in US, Europe, Australia and Japan; AI partners in US or EU per region.
- asana.com/trust · checked Oct 17, 2026
Zero-retention option
AI partners delete data upon completion of each AI query.
- help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-faq · checked Oct 17, 2026
Vendor pages we monitor for this tool
We save a fingerprint (SHA-256 of the page's visible text) on every check so we can spot when a vendor edits its terms.
| Page | Checked | Fingerprint |
|---|---|---|
| https://help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-features-and-admin-controls?language=en_US | Oct 17, 2026 | 1261db9f65a1… |
| https://help.asana.com/s/article/asana-ai-faq?language=en_US | Oct 17, 2026 | 8713617642cb… |
| https://asana.com/trust | Oct 17, 2026 | 388f3d7d0414… |
Compare with
- Airtable AI Doesn't train
- Atlassian Rovo / Atlassian Intelligence Not stated
- ClickUp Brain Not stated
- monday AI Doesn't train
- Notion AI Doesn't train
See all Productivity tools · Why AI training on your data matters · How we source and verify this