Does Dropbox Dash / Dropbox AI train on your data? (Business plans)
Doesn't train by default
Doesn't train on business data by default.
"We will not build generative AI models using customer content without consent."
Why this matters: A "no" keeps your prompts and files out of Dropbox's models, where they couldn't be removed later. Confirm it covers the plan you use. Why training matters →
Below: retention, SOC 2, ISO 27001/42001, DPA, BAA, data residency and zero-retention for Dropbox Dash / Dropbox AI, each linked to Dropbox's own page.
Trains on your data by default
"We will not build generative AI models using customer content without consent."
- dropbox.com/ai-principles · checked Oct 17, 2026
Data retention
Not stated on the Dropbox pages we checked.
- dash.dropbox.com/ai-info-page · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/ai-principles · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance · checked Oct 17, 2026
SOC 2 Type II
SOC 2 and SOC 3 reports (SOC 3 public).
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance · checked Oct 17, 2026
ISO/IEC 27001
ISO 27001 (EY CertifyPoint).
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance · checked Oct 17, 2026
ISO/IEC 42001
Not stated on the Dropbox pages we checked.
- dash.dropbox.com/ai-info-page · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/ai-principles · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance · checked Oct 17, 2026
DPA available
Not stated on the Dropbox pages we checked.
- dash.dropbox.com/ai-info-page · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/ai-principles · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance · checked Oct 17, 2026
BAA / HIPAA
BAAs for Standard, Advanced, Enterprise and Education customers.
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance · checked Oct 17, 2026
Data residency options
Not stated on the Dropbox pages we checked.
- dash.dropbox.com/ai-info-page · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/ai-principles · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance · checked Oct 17, 2026
Zero-retention option
Not stated on the Dropbox pages we checked.
- dash.dropbox.com/ai-info-page · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/ai-principles · checked Oct 17, 2026
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance · checked Oct 17, 2026
Vendor pages we monitor for this tool
We save a fingerprint (SHA-256 of the page's visible text) on every check so we can spot when a vendor edits its terms.
| Page | Checked | Fingerprint |
|---|---|---|
| https://dash.dropbox.com/ai-info-page | Oct 17, 2026 | 3c1e5dcc83ee… |
| https://www.dropbox.com/ai-principles | Oct 17, 2026 | b147f4fc8c12… |
| https://www.dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance | Oct 17, 2026 | 00b58fc17198… |
Compare with
- Box AI Doesn't train
- Adobe Firefly Doesn't train · Design, same training default
- Airtable AI Doesn't train · Productivity, same training default
See all Content tools · Why AI training on your data matters · How we source and verify this