Not legal advice · Summaries of vendors' public pages, which change often. Verify with the vendor and your contract before relying on anything here.

Does Azure OpenAI in Foundry Models train on your data? (Business plans)

Business plan Microsoft · Model API · Last verified

Doesn't train by default

Doesn't train on business data by default.

Short answer: No

Prompts, completions, embeddings and training data are NOT used to train foundation models without your permission.

Why this matters: A "no" keeps your prompts and files out of Microsoft's models, where they couldn't be removed later. Confirm it covers the plan you use. Why training matters →

1/7 assurances found·2 of 9 fields confirmed from vendor pages

Below: retention, SOC 2, ISO 27001/42001, DPA, BAA, data residency and zero-retention for Azure OpenAI in Foundry Models, each linked to Microsoft's own page.

Summary of Microsoft's public pages as of Oct 17, 2026. Not legal advice: terms vary by plan and contract and can change. Confirm with Microsoft before relying on it.

Trains on your data by default

No

Prompts, completions, embeddings and training data are NOT used to train foundation models without your permission.

Data retention

Unknown

Not stated on the Microsoft pages we checked.

SOC 2 Type II

Unknown

Not stated on the Microsoft pages we checked.

ISO/IEC 27001

Unknown

Not stated on the Microsoft pages we checked.

ISO/IEC 42001

Unknown

Not stated on the Microsoft pages we checked.

DPA available

Unknown

Not stated on the Microsoft pages we checked.

BAA / HIPAA

Unknown

Not stated on the Microsoft pages we checked.

Data residency options

Yes

Regional, Data Zone and Global deployment types determine processing location.

Zero-retention option

Unknown

Not stated on the Microsoft pages we checked.

Vendor pages we monitor for this tool

We save a fingerprint (SHA-256 of the page's visible text) on every check so we can spot when a vendor edits its terms.