Does Amazon Q Business train on your data?
Doesn't train by default
Doesn't train on business data by default.
"Amazon Q Business does not use customer data for service improvement or for improving underlying LLMs." Note: AWS says Q Business is no longer open to new customers (see Amazon Quick).
Why this matters: A "no" keeps your prompts and files out of AWS's models, where they couldn't be removed later. Confirm it covers the plan you use. Why training matters →
Below: retention, SOC 2, ISO 27001/42001, DPA, BAA, data residency and zero-retention for Amazon Q Business, each linked to AWS's own page.
Trains on your data by default
"Amazon Q Business does not use customer data for service improvement or for improving underlying LLMs." Note: AWS says Q Business is no longer open to new customers (see Amazon Quick).
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
Data retention
Not stated on the AWS pages we checked.
- aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/data-protection.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
SOC 2 Type II
Not stated on the AWS pages we checked.
- aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/data-protection.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
ISO/IEC 27001
Not stated on the AWS pages we checked.
- aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/data-protection.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
ISO/IEC 42001
Not stated on the AWS pages we checked.
- aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/data-protection.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
DPA available
Not stated on the AWS pages we checked.
- aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/data-protection.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
BAA / HIPAA
HIPAA eligible service.
- aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ · checked Oct 17, 2026
Data residency options
Docs reference cross-region inference.
- aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/data-protection.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
Zero-retention option
Not stated on the AWS pages we checked.
- aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/data-protection.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
- docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html · checked Oct 17, 2026
Vendor pages we monitor for this tool
We save a fingerprint (SHA-256 of the page's visible text) on every check so we can spot when a vendor edits its terms.
| Page | Checked | Fingerprint |
|---|---|---|
| https://aws.amazon.com/q/business/faqs/ | Oct 17, 2026 | 106508970b81… |
| https://docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/data-protection.html | Oct 17, 2026 | d53c7c13e0b6… |
| https://docs.aws.amazon.com/amazonq/latest/qbusiness-ug/service-improvement.html | Oct 17, 2026 | 5fda4bff69b0… |
Compare with
- ChatGPT Enterprise / Business Doesn't train
- Claude for Work (Team / Enterprise) Doesn't train
- Gemini for Google Workspace Doesn't train
- Le Chat Enterprise Doesn't train
- Microsoft 365 Copilot Doesn't train
- ChatGPT (Free / Plus / Pro) Trains by defaultPersonal
See all Assistant tools · Why AI training on your data matters · How we source and verify this